Flash Tales



God’s Country (Suwannee, FL @ Night)

 One of the most breath-taking skies I've seen
One of the most breath-taking skies I’ve seen

The view up the canal.... five minutes by water to the right the Suwannee becomes a third of a mile wide... five minutes to the left... the Gulf of Mexico! Brilliant!

Have you EVER seen a sky like this?!? All my life we’ve taken family trips to Suwannee, FL; a small fishing village in the midde of nowhere; where the Suwannee River meets the Gulf.  My mom went all of her life, and her parents just the same. Some of the earliest memories I have are of watching meteor showers at Suwannee, and of course fishing! I have always tried to explain to my friends who have never been to Suwannee what the stars are like… but words just can’t express it.

So, I was determined on one of my last trips not to leave without an accurate photo that would at least make them understand that I wasn’t crazy when I ranted about the sky. But taking photos of stars proved much tougher than I had expected. 

About an hour into it though, I nearly had it figured out. These photos were taken in complete darkness… I couldn’t even see my hand held out at arms length. I left the shutter open for nearly a  minute to be able to see anything.  In the first photo the bright light beyond the palms is really a dim street lamp. You can also see orion mid photo on the right, athough it’s tough because there are so many other stars.

 Give it a try sometime!  Go out, setup your camera on the tripod, turn that dial to manual and play around with the shutter speeds until you start to see the results you are looking for. Be sure to leave the camera perfectly still. Whether you have to set your camera on a blanket on the ground or if you have a tripod… get creative. You just might be surprised at what turns out.


Leave a comment